ManifoldCF

In order to create a full search solution, beyond the search engine, data retrieval is the very first step. It is conceptually close to ETL or MDM. Its aim is to fetch the data, be it multisource or multiformat, hand it over the indexing engine, manage access security and keep track of the already indexed data.


This needed is strong enough to push the open source community to collaborate on open source frameworks, supported by communities of users and developpers. Among these frameworks, we can cite Aperture, Google Connector Framework and Apache ManifoldCF. Datafari uses the latter to crawl data and for the documents security.

As indicated in its name, Apache ManifoldCF is an Apache foundation project. Originally created solelly to send data to Lucene/Solr, it then evolved to become a standalone project.

Device

You can get more information on the Apache ManifoldCF website. Apache ManifoldCF retrieves the data from different information systems, proposes a framework that enables the addition of new connectors, and manages the retrieval of the ACLs and the connexion to LDAP/AD.
It is under Apache v2 open source licence. France Labs offers its expertise to install, configure, extend and maintain Apache ManifoldCF on your systems.

Among the off the shelf connectors, Apache ManifoldCF proposes Sharepoint, Databases, fileshares, and emails. It proposes a GUI to configure the connectors, traversal time windows, number of documents fetched by crawl cycle, and regex to filter documents.

In which case should you use Apache ManifoldCF

Apache ManifoldCF is recommended when you need to indexed data from several heterogeneous sytems, or when you are anticipating an evolution of your information system. This framework is also well documented, removing the issue of relying on engineers that have homemade their own framework with no documentation.

Last Tweets

Contact

  • Address: 242 bvd Jean Ossola, 06700 Saint-Laurent-du-Var

  • Phone: +33 (0)9 72 43 72 85

Follow us

ManifoldCF

Pour construire une solution de recherche, au-delà du moteur de recherche en lui-même, une étape essentielle est celle de la récupération des données. Conceptuellement proche des problématiques des ETL ou du MDM, cette étape doit s'assurer de la récupération des données, de leur transfert au moteur d'indexation, et doit pouvoir gérer la sécurité des accès ainsi que la persistence des données à transférer.


Ce besoin est suffisament fort et récurrent pour que des framework open source apparaissent, soutenus par une communauté d'utilisateurs et de développeurs. Parmi ces frameworks, nous pouvons citer Aperture, Google Connector Framework et Apache ManifoldCF. Datafari utilise MCF pour la récupération des données et la sécurité.

Comme son nom l'indique, Apache ManifoldCF est un projet de la fondation Apache. Initialement créé dans le seul but de fournir un framework de connecteur pour Lucene/Solr, la communauté a décidé de l'en détacher et d'en faire un projet à part entière.

Device

Vous pouvez obtenir plus d'informations sur le site d'Apache ManifoldCF. Apache ManifoldCF s'occupe donc de récuperer les données dans différents types de systèmes d'informations, propose un système de connecteur permettant d'en rajouter de nouveaux, gère la récupération des ACLs et des droits d'accès.
Il est sous licence logiciel libre Apache. France Labs vous propose son expertise pour installer, configurer, étendre et maintenir Apache ManifoldCF sur vos systèmes.

Parmi les connecteurs déjà disponibles, Apache ManifoldCF propose notamment Sharepoint, les bases de données, les partages de fichiers, les emails. Il propose dans une interface graphique la possibilité de configurer les connecteurs, jusqu'à la gestion des temps de traversée, le nombre de documents à récuperer par parcours, ou encore des expressions régulières pour le filtrage des documents.

Dans quels cas utiliser Apache ManifoldCF

Apache ManifoldCF est recommandable dès lors que plusieurs systèmes hétérogènes doivent être indexés, ou que l'on prévoit une évolution de son système d'information dans l'avenir. Ce framework est en effet bien documenté, et permet d'éviter de dépendre de développement spécifique.

Derniers Tweets

Contact

  • Adresse: 242 bvd Jean Ossola, 06700 Saint-Laurent-du-Var

  • Téléphone: +33 (0)9 72 43 72 85

Suivez nous